Dream Log 6.9

The Context:

I wouldn’t say there was a whole lot of context last night to lead into the dream being weird or anything. Watched The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones last night before bed, but the dream didn’t quite seem to relate to that idea. Oh. And I recently signed up for a dating app which may be semi-related to aspects of the dream.

The Dream:

I stand there before the woman and her cart, her wagon, her home. Things are draped every where. There are crystals and jewelry. She is an older woman and one of the Roma. As am I, I sense.

He comes to me. Too close for comfort. He touches me and tries to embrace me but I push him back. I try to ignore him. He is dark complected and thin. Taller than I with his dark hair pulled back in a short pony-tail at the nape of his neck. He is intense and wants my attention and affection, but I do not give it to him.

I ignore him for the crystals. But he almost forces himself at me. Not to do anything, but to simply get my attention again. I see him from the corner of my eyes between the scarves and jewelry draped on the woman’s cart and the poles that keep the awning up. He won’t stop staring at me.

Somehow I see it from a distant, third person perspective. I am, or she is, dark-haired as well. She tries to leave but he grabs her wrist and pulls her to him against her will. If she/I flee, I cannot recall. The details have faded away.

The Commentary:

Part of me thinks the dream relates to some possible anxieties about dating someone who doesn’t take no for an answer or whatever. I mean, I haven’t had too many bad possessive relationship experiences in this life, but maybe a part of me just worries that someone I end up with will be too possessive and controlling again (like my first boyfriend) or whatever. I don’t know. Just a thought I had when I mentioned the idea of the dating app thing.

The other idea I started realizing as I typed it up relates to the idea that I distinctly felt like the woman was Romani and so was I in the dream. The man was too. I’ve had one past life that I know of where I was in a small Romani group that traveled frequently, but my memories of that life really don’t seem to relate fully to this dream. I don’t ever really remember any young men in my life that would have tried to force themselves on me or for me to be with them. Not to say that couldn’t have happened, I’ll have to check with my roommate who has better memories of the lifetime, but I know I actually ended up with a woman in that life instead of a man. Even with the long hair, the man was very much a man and not a woman who dressed as one.

So maybe it relates a bit to that past life or another where I was Romani. Maybe it just relates to the anxieties about dating play a part in the dream. I just very much distinctly remembering some interesting tidbits that needed to be posted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

